NASWA Winter SWL Fest » 2022 35th (!?) Winter SWL Fest Program and Forums Schedule

2022 35th (!?) Winter SWL Fest Program and Forums Schedule

 “VIRTUAL” WINTER SWL FEST PROGRAM — Here’s what you missed at the 35th (!?) Fest in 2022!

 All sessions except the “Shindig” nominally one-hour but may run longer or shorter at the option of the presenter.

“The Bob Brown Memorial Hospitality Suite”* — A virtual hospitality room, sponsored by the Canadian International DX Club (CIDX) will be open over the course of the event.  Announcements and instructions will be provided along the way.  (You’re on your own for snacks and drinks, however, since we haven’t yet been able to figure out a way to make these items available through ZOOM.  We’re still working on it, though!)

Please note!!!  This schedule is accurate as of March 4 and subject to revision.

FRIDAY, MARCH 4, 2022 (UTC)

1800 UTC / 1300 EST / 1000 PST / 1900 CET / 0500 (Sat.) AEDT

“Setting Up Your Monitoring Post [or] How to Wire Yourself into a Corner Without Really Trying.”Tom Swisher

We may trust in God and monitor all others, but we still need a monitoring post from which to do it. Your monitoring post can be as simple or as complicated as you want it to be, and if you really want to wire yourself into a corner, you can do that too.

1930 UTC / 1430 EST / 1130 PST / 2030 CET / 0630 (Sat.) AEDT

Famous Hams Past and PresentSkip Arey N2EI

Uncle Skip invites you to play “Guess Who’s the Ham” —  a trip through quirky ham history by discovering folks who are (or were) Amateur Radio Operators. Some you may know but I guarantee there will be a few that may surprise you.

2100 UTC / 1600 EST / 1300 PST / 2200 CET / 0800 (Sat.) AEDT

The Free Radio ForumLarry Will

Mysterious signals that go bump in the night. Odd sounds on odd frequencies in the middle of the afternoon. AM signals with very wide full fidelity bandwidth. Distorted sideband transmissions playing strange music and making weird images appear on their listeners’ software defined radio displays. Welcome to the world of unlicensed free radio on shortwave. We’ll present a little bit of history and take a look at the current state of shortwave pirate radio in North America.

2230 UTC / 1730 EST / 1430 PST / 2330 CET / 0930 (Sat.) AEDT

The International Radio Report – Live Recording – Sheldon Harvey and Gilles Letourneau
Join Sheldon and Gilles in the Winterfest Hospitality Suite as they co-host a live recording of their weekly radio program heard on CKUT-FM in Montreal Sunday at 1030 AM Eastern; 1530 UTC, and archived on the program’s YouTube channel. They will be reviewing the activities and events of Day One of Winterfest, as well as conducting interviews with members of the audience from around the world in attendance at this year’s Fest. You too can be on the radio!

2345 UTC / 1845 EST / 1545 PST / 0045 (Sat.) CET  / 1045 (Sat.) AEST

Shortwave Listening in JapanToshi Ohtake and Sakae Obara

Marking the 70th anniversary of the Japan SW Club, an assessment of the past, present and future of swl-ing and dx-ing in Japan.

SATURDAY, MARCH 5th, 2022 (UTC)

0100 UTC / 2000 (Fri.) EST / 1700 (Fri.) PST / 0200 CET / 1200 AEDT

The Shortwave Shindig in Exile (Again!)David Goren

From a secret location: David’s annual freeform extended celebration of the medium. This time it shapes up like this:

The Zoom warmup:
0100-0300—Shortwave-related music videos, a review of radio-related bits and bobs from the past year, an update on the Brooklyn Pirate Radio Sound Map and a few surprises.
The Live Broadcast via WRMI 7570 khz:
0300-0400 Shortwave Shindig—Our celebration of shortwave arts, culture and history!
0400-0600 The best of “Short Waves/Long Distance” 2022
Huzzah! It’s the return of Short Waves/Long Distance, a world wide open call for compositions using shortwave sounds. SW/LD is sponsored by NASWA, Wave Farm and Montez Press Radio to celebrate the 35th Winter SWL Fest and Wave Farm’s 25th anniversary. <wavefarm.org

———

1445 UTC / 0945 EST / 0645 PST / 1545 CET / 0145 (Sun.) AEDT

What’s the EDXC Up To?Chrissy Brand, Secretary General, European DX Council (EDXC)  

There will be a few nice images to share, a look at the history of EDXC conferences, and possibly a very short video of the last EDXC conference which took place in 2019.

Please note: This 1530 UTC session has been cancelled.  Text of the presentation will be made available in its place.
1530 UTC / 1030 EST / 0730 PST / 1630 CET / 0230 (Sun.) AEDT

The Adventure of the Radio Andorra Revival – Christian Ghibaudo, Assistant Secretary General, EDXC

The background to Christian Milling’s efforts with EDXC support to convince Radio Andorra to return, albeit temporarily, to the shortwave spectrum.

1530 UTC Replacement Session!
The Ukraine Crisis and Radio – Dan Robinson will lead a freewheeling discussion with conference participants.

1745 UTC / 1245 EST / 0945 PST / 1845 CET / 0445 (Sun.) AEDT

A Radio Journey Across Seven Continents Bruce Churchill 

What started as a simple exposition of my hobby memoirs and a collection of QSL cards over my years in the hobby morphed into a pseudo geography-history story as I looked beyond just the QSL cards to what they represented – history in the making as colonial empires (especially in Africa and SE Asia) collapsed and many new countries were created in the 1960’s and beyond. I also realized that many young people in today’s generation do not really understand “social/cultural geography” (the study of peoples, cultures, and languages in the context of where they live). Thus, this book became an attempt to put context into our hobby and capture the cultures, languages, images, history, and geography behind the many shortwave stations that defined our hobby in the “Golden Age” of DXing (50 years from 1960 to 2010).

1900 UTC / 1400 EST / 1100 PST / 2000 CET / 0600 (Sun.) AEDT

Technical Monitoring at the VOA – Bill Whitacre

Ever wonder how shortwave broadcasters know if they’re being heard or not?  Most
don’t … unless you send them an email.  VOA has always been among the most
well informed about their audibility in far-off target areas.  That didn’t just
happen on its own.  Bill Whitacre led VOA’s monitoring efforts from 1987 until
he retired in January 2021.  Help Bill get some closure on his career by telling
you what he knows about technical monitoring for 30 minutes.

2015 UTC / 1515 EST / 1215 PST / 2115 CET / 0715 (Sun.) AEDT

Back to the ClassicsDan Robinson

More than 50 years later, with 100 + radios still in the stable — including some
of the top receivers ever made — Dan Robinson is going forward to the past and finding enjoyment in some of the classic receivers we all remember.  Dan will discuss some of those radios and why their features still qualify them to sit next to the top gun receivers in his shack.

2345 UTC / 1845 EST / 1545 PST / 0045 (Sun.) CET / 1045 (Sun.) AEDT

In MemoriamSheldon Harvey
Recognition for those friends and notables in the hobby who have passed over the last year.

0000 UTC (Sun.)/ 1900 EST (Sat.)/ 1600 PST (Sat.)/ 0100 (Sun.) CET / 1100 (Sun.) AEDT

The Radio Hobby: The Changing State of What We DoSheldon Harvey and Gilles Letourneau

Tired of hearing about stations leaving shortwave; how radio is dying; and that there’s nothing to listen to out there? Are you concerned about what the future holds for what we do as radio hobbyists?  Well, the future is now!  Two Canadians, from Montreal, discuss how they have been working hard to address the challenge and will suggest some innovative ways to make what we do interesting for newcomers and for seasoned veterans alike, using a wide variety of tools and vehicles.


*Bob Brown (kW3F) was one of the original “Gang of Three” who, with Harold “Dr. DX” Cones and Kris Field, conceived, organized and hosted the Winter SWL Fest from its beginnings until the close of the 20th century.  Bob passed in 2021 and CIDX and NASWA, in recognition of this and his other lifetime works in promoting the shortwave hobby, are honoring him by dedicating our virtual hospitality suite in his honor.